Your Account: Login or Register

The Book of Judges

Taught by Rabbi David Silber

This event next occurs Sunday, March 31, 10:00AM. Click here to view all 10 occurences.
Sunday, February 3, 10:00AM
Sunday, February 10, 10:00AM
Sunday, February 24, 10:00AM
Sunday, March 3, 10:00AM
Sunday, March 10, 10:00AM
Sunday, March 17, 10:00AM
Sunday, March 24, 10:00AM
Sunday, March 31, 10:00AM
Sunday, April 7, 10:00AM
Sunday, April 14, 10:00AM
Hide dates

Tuition is $275, but FREE for Shearith Israel members

The book of Judges takes place in the time period following the death of Joshua and during the Jewish nation's transitional period from tribal society to a monarchy.

In this class, Rabbi Silber will study the existential and governing challenges faced by the developing Jewish nation during this time period, along with the personalities of the judges - particularly Devora, Gideon, Jephthah and Samson. The class will explore their strengths, their weaknesses, and discuss the overall attitude in the verses toward their leadership and implications for kingship.

Rabbi David Silber is the Founder and Dean of Drisha Institute for Jewish Education. He received ordination from the Rabbi Isaac Elchanan Theological Seminary. He received the Covenant Award in 2000. He is the author of A Passover Haggadah: Go Forth and Learn, published by JPS in 2011, and the newly released For Such a Time as This: Biblical Reflections in the Book of Esther, published by Koren Publishing in 2017 (Hebrew).   

Shearith Israel members can register for FREE - to get the discount code, click here.

If you are not a member, you can register through Drisha's website here.

Hebrew School History

In 1802, Meir Polonies donated $900 to fund our Hebrew School

1731
Benjamin N. Cardozo

Supreme Court Justice Benjamin Nathan Cardozo spoke of the need for the Congregation to maintain its historic traditions and to remain true to the customs and practices of the generations that had come before.

1895