Your Account: Login or Register

Shearith Israel Chorale

This event next occurs Wednesday, May 18, 7:00PM. Click here to view all 13 occurences.
Wednesday, April 6, 7:00PM
Wednesday, April 13, 7:00PM
Wednesday, April 20, 7:00PM
Wednesday, April 27, 7:00PM
Wednesday, May 4, 7:00PM
Wednesday, May 11, 7:00PM
Wednesday, May 18, 7:00PM
Wednesday, May 25, 7:00PM
Wednesday, June 1, 7:00PM
Wednesday, June 8, 7:00PM
Wednesday, June 15, 7:00PM
Wednesday, June 22, 7:00PM
Wednesday, June 29, 7:00PM
Hide dates

Please join us on Wednesday evenings for a new and exciting musical opportunity.  Learn to sing pieces from our congregation’s musical heritage and beyond.  Led by Mr. Eliot Alderman, this new offering is open to anyone with an interest in singing and learning our musical tradition. Sessions are open to all, and last about 75 minutes with a short break in the middle. The ability to read music is a plus but is not required. Performance opportunities will be determined by the progress and wishes of the chorale.

 

The Shearith Israel Chorale will meet Wednesday evenings from 7:00 - 8:15 pm starting on April 6.  Suggested donation is $15 per session (or as you are able). 

 

Click here to register.

 

Eliot Alderman is a freelance Hazzan and Choirmaster based in London, and working throughout the UK. He currently holds the positions of Choirmaster to Mill Hill United, Edgware United and Hendon United synagogues.  He also conducts The Rinah Ensemble - a professional choral group. Formerly, Mr. Alderman served as Music Director and Hazan of the Spanish & Portuguese Jews’ Congregation, London.

Hazzan Alderman studied the cantorial arts at the Tel-Aviv Cantorial Institute, training with HazzanNaftali Herstik of the Jerusalem Great Synagogue, with Raymond Goldstein and with Chaim Feifel. He continued his training in England with Hazan Moshe Haschel of St. John's Wood Synagogue.

He gained his MA in Opera Studies from the Royal Academy of Music, and he was also awarded the prestigious DipRAM, the Academy's highest award for Postgraduate study. He achieved his Bachelor of Music in Vocal Studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, taking conducting as an additional study. He also holds Bachelors and Masters degrees in Natural Sciences from Cambridge University.

 

Gershom Mendes Seixas

Gershom Mendes Seixas (1745-1816) was the first American-born spiritual leader of Shearith Israel.

1768
Nineteenth Street Synagogue

The congregation's fourth synagogue was built on nineteenth Street, just west of Fifth Avenue.  

1860