Your Account: Login or Register

Saadiah Gaon's Book of Beliefs and Opinions

Sjimon den Hollander

This event next occurs Sunday, October 7, 8:45AM. Click here to view all 34 occurences.
Sunday, October 7, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 14, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 21, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 28, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 4, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 11, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 18, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 25, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 2, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 9, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 16, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 23, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 30, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 6, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 13, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 20, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 27, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 3, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 10, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 17, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 24, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 3, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 10, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 17, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 24, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 31, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 7, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 14, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 21, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 28, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 5, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 12, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 19, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 26, 8:45AM
Hide dates

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

 

Every Sunday at 8:45 am. The Book of Beliefs and Opinions (completed 933 CE) was the first systematic presentation and philosophic foundation of the dogmas of Judaism. 

 

Sjimon den Hollander grew up in the Netherlands, where he earned a Master’s degree in Arabic and Islamic Studies at Leiden University. He has taught courses on Judaism, Christianity, Islam, language and philosophy. Currently Mr. den Hollander is enrolled in Yeshiva University’s rabbinical program. He is also involved in an Arabic website, www.aslalYahud.org, that provides information on Judaism.

“Were it not for Rav Saadia Gaon, the Torah would have almost disappeared from Jewish people. For it was he who shed light on that which was obscure, strengthened that which had been weakened, and spread the Torah far and wide, by word of mouth and in writing.” -Maimonides

 

 Please follow our weeky emails for schedule changes or cancellations.

Twenty First Street Cemetery

In August of 1829, Shearith Israel’s third cemetery was consecrated.  It was located on Twenty First Street just west of Sixth Avenue

1829
Hanukkiah

Synagogue tradition associates this Hanukkah lamp with the First Mill Street Synagogue of 1730.

1730