Your Account: Login or Register

Saadiah Gaon's Book of Beliefs and Opinions

Sjimon den Hollander

This event next occurs Sunday, April 2. Click here to view all 24 occurences.
Sunday, October 30
Sunday, November 6
Sunday, November 13
Sunday, November 20
Sunday, November 27
Sunday, December 4
Sunday, December 11
Sunday, December 18
Sunday, December 25
Sunday, January 1
Sunday, January 8
Sunday, January 15
Sunday, January 22
Sunday, January 29
Sunday, February 5
Sunday, February 12
Sunday, February 19
Sunday, February 26
Sunday, March 5
Sunday, March 12
Sunday, March 19
Sunday, March 26
Sunday, April 2
Sunday, April 9
Hide dates

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

 

Every Sunday at 8:45 am. The Book of Beliefs and Opinions (completed 933 CE) was the first systematic presentation and philosophic foundation of the dogmas of Judaism. 

 

Sjimon den Hollander grew up in the Netherlands, where he earned a Master’s degree in Arabic and Islamic Studies at Leiden University. He has taught courses on Judaism, Christianity, Islam, language and philosophy. Currently Mr. den Hollander is enrolled in Yeshiva University’s rabbinical program. He is also involved in an Arabic website, www.aslalYahud.org, that provides information on Judaism.

“Were it not for Rav Saadia Gaon, the Torah would have almost disappeared from Jewish people. For it was he who shed light on that which was obscure, strengthened that which had been weakened, and spread the Torah far and wide, by word of mouth and in writing.” -Maimonides

 

 Please follow our weeky emails for schedule changes or cancellations.

The 'Pineapple' Rimonim

These bells adorned a Torah scroll at the consecration ceremony of the First Mill Street Synagogue in 1730.

1730
West 11th Street Cemetery

The West Eleventh Street cemetery, the second historic cemetery of Congregation Shearith Israel, was consecrated on February 27, 1805.  

1805