Your Account: Login or Register

Saadiah Gaon's Book of Beliefs and Opinions

Sjimon den Hollander

This event next occurs Sunday, April 22, 8:45AM. Click here to view all 37 occurences.
Sunday, September 3, 8:45AM
Sunday, September 10, 8:45AM
Sunday, September 17, 8:45AM
Sunday, September 24, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 1, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 8, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 15, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 22, 8:45AM
Sunday, October 29, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 5, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 12, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 19, 8:45AM
Sunday, November 26, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 3, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 10, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 17, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 24, 8:45AM
Sunday, December 31, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 7, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 14, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 21, 8:45AM
Sunday, January 28, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 4, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 11, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 18, 8:45AM
Sunday, February 25, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 4, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 11, 8:45AM
Sunday, March 25, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 8, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 15, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 22, 8:45AM
Sunday, April 29, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 6, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 13, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 20, 8:45AM
Sunday, May 27, 8:45AM
Hide dates

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

Commentary of Rav Saadia Geon to the Pentateuch. Courtesy of the Friedberg Genizah Project.

 

Every Sunday at 8:45 am. The Book of Beliefs and Opinions (completed 933 CE) was the first systematic presentation and philosophic foundation of the dogmas of Judaism. 

 

Sjimon den Hollander grew up in the Netherlands, where he earned a Master’s degree in Arabic and Islamic Studies at Leiden University. He has taught courses on Judaism, Christianity, Islam, language and philosophy. Currently Mr. den Hollander is enrolled in Yeshiva University’s rabbinical program. He is also involved in an Arabic website, www.aslalYahud.org, that provides information on Judaism.

“Were it not for Rav Saadia Gaon, the Torah would have almost disappeared from Jewish people. For it was he who shed light on that which was obscure, strengthened that which had been weakened, and spread the Torah far and wide, by word of mouth and in writing.” -Maimonides

 

 Please follow our weeky emails for schedule changes or cancellations.

Twenty First Street Cemetery

In August of 1829, Shearith Israel’s third cemetery was consecrated.  It was located on Twenty First Street just west of Sixth Avenue

1829
Revolutionary War Torah Scrolls

In 1776, several British soldiers desecrated two of Shearith Israel’s Torah scrolls.

1776