Your Account: Login or Register

The Misunderstood Masterpiece: A New Approach to Pirkei Abot

Rabbi Meir Soloveichik

This event next occurs Saturday, June 3. Click here to view all 46 occurences.
Saturday, October 15
Saturday, October 22
Saturday, October 29
Saturday, November 5
Saturday, November 12
Saturday, November 19
Saturday, November 26
Saturday, December 3
Saturday, December 10
Saturday, December 17
Saturday, December 24
Saturday, December 31
Saturday, January 7
Saturday, January 14
Saturday, January 21
Saturday, January 28
Saturday, February 4
Saturday, February 11
Saturday, February 18
Saturday, February 25
Saturday, March 4
Saturday, March 11
Saturday, March 18
Saturday, March 25
Saturday, April 1
Saturday, April 8
Saturday, April 15
Saturday, April 22
Saturday, April 29
Saturday, May 6
Saturday, May 13
Saturday, May 20
Saturday, May 27
Saturday, June 3
Saturday, June 10
Saturday, June 17
Saturday, June 24
Saturday, July 1
Saturday, July 8
Saturday, July 15
Saturday, July 22
Saturday, July 29
Saturday, August 5
Saturday, August 12
Saturday, August 19
Saturday, August 26
Hide dates

Rabbi Akiba Ben Joseph

Rabbi Akiba Ben Joseph

Pirkei Abot is often understood as a mere series of unrelated ethical adages. In fact, each brief and much-cited maxim in Pirkei Abot actually hints at the extraordinary, and unique, life story and worldview of its rabbinic source, and the chapters of Abot are joined together in a structure that actually tells the story of the transmission of the Oral Law. We will see how studying the history of the rabbinic figures cited lend an entirely new understanding to these statements, and how Abot represents the diverse response of the rabbis to an age of crisis and transition that was, in many ways, not unlike our own.

 

 Please follow our weeky emails for schedule changes or cancellations.

 

The fall semester is sponsored by Lewis Lipsey.

 

Twenty First Street Cemetery

In August of 1829, Shearith Israel’s third cemetery was consecrated.  It was located on Twenty First Street just west of Sixth Avenue

1829
Uriah Phillips Levy

Uriah Phillips Levy, the first Jew to be promoted to Commodore in the United States Navy.

1850