Your Account: Login or Register

1654 Society

Whether they live down the street or across the globe, many people are fascinated by Shearith Israel’s unique place in history as America’s first Jewish Congregation. 

 

Formed in 2004 as a separate not-for-profit organization, the 1654 Society helps ensure the maintenance of our landmark synagogue, historic cemeteries, priceless artifacts, archives and more. The 1654 Society also sponsors tours, lectures and other programming that focuses on Shearith Israel’s history. 

 

We are currently involved in two major restoration projects: the rehabilitation and beautification of our West 11th Street Cemetery and the reinforcement of our priceless Tiffany windows.  Please consider donating to the 1654 Society today as there is no better time to be a steward of America’s Jewish legacy.   To discuss a major gift, please contact Executive Director Barbara Reiss.

 To learn more, visit 1654society.org

Omer Board

Shearith Israel’s “Omer Board” dates back to the Mill Street Synagogue of 1730, and may indeed go back to the early years of the Congregation’s history. 

1730
Beth Olam Cemetery

Beth Olam Cemetery in Ridgewood, Queens has provided for the burials of our congregation since 1851 and will continue to do so for many years to come.

1851